Tony Braswell, President Ginny Hatfield, Vice President Dorothy Apple, Treasurer Dale Liebowitz-Neglia, Secretary Daryl Baskin Glenn Block Desmond Faison Alice Hart Suzanne Lewis Lisa Miller Paulette Stokes Erin Stover Maribel Ulloa-Garcia Jeff Walker Marc Woersching Eileen Garcia, Student Member Jake Kovinsky, Student Member

CITY OF LOS ANGELES



NEIGHBORHOOD COUNCIL VALLEY VILLAGE

P.O. Box 4703 Valley Village, CA 91617

TELEPHONE: (818) 759-8204

www.myvalleyvillage.com

MINUTES NEIGHBORHOOD COUNCIL VALLEY VILLAGE SPECIAL CALLED MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ANNUAL BOARD RETREAT

August 21, 2019 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Fellowship Hall - Faith Presbyterian Church 5000 Colfax Avenue, Valley Village, CA, 91607

The meeting was called to order by Tony Braswell at 7:30 pm. Board members present were Dorothy Apple, Daryl Baskin, Glenn Block, Tony Braswell, Desmond Faison, Alice Hart, Ginny Hatfield, Suzanne Lewis-Gregory, Lisa Miller, Paulette Stokes, Erin Stover, Maribel Ulloa-Garcia, Jeff Walker and Marc Woersching. Dale Liebowitz-Neglia was excused. Student Representatives Eileen Garcia and Jake Kovinsky were present. The quorum for NCVV Board meetings is 8, which must include 3 members of the Executive Committee. No one stated a conflict of interest with any item on the agenda. The agenda was approved 13-0-0-2, with Garcia and Kovinsky voting in the affirmative.

There was no public comment.

Ms. Betty Wong-Oyama gave the Board an update from the Department of Neighborhood Empowerment. She also reviewed city guidelines for conducting a public meeting, including guidance on how to handle interactions with stakeholders or other members of the audience. The Board was given a copy of the guidelines.

The Board reviewed standing committees. Board members were asked to consider which Committee(s) they would like to serve with through FY2021. Also Committee chairs were discussed. The new Committee Chairs and Committee memberships are:

Executive Committee: Tony Braswell Chair, Ginny Hatfield, Dorothy Apple, Dale Liebowitz-Neglia

Finance Committee: Dorothy Apple Chair, Tony Braswell, Ginny Hatfield

Planning and Land Use Committee: Dale Liebowitz-Neglia Chair, Marc Woersching, Dorothy Apple,

Glenn Block, Tony Braswell

Valley Village Vision: Glenn Block and Marc Woersching Co-Chairs, Desmond Faison

Events and Outreach – Maribel Ulloa Garcia and Ginny Hatfield Co-Chairs, Alice Hart, Daryl Baskin, Paulette Stokes,

Eileen Garcia

City Services: Suzanne Lewis Gregory Chair, Alice Hart, Paulette Stokes, Tony Braswell, Jake Kovinsky Elections & Bylaws: Ginny Hatfield Chair, Lisa Miller, Jeff Walker, Tony Braswell, Eileen Garcia Communications: Erin Stover Chair, Suzanne Lewis Gregory, Paulette Stokes, Tony Braswell

The Board discussed goals for the two years leading up to the next Board election. The following goals were agreed upon:

- Four annual signature events: Earth Day, July 4th Pancake Breakfast, National Night Out, Light Up Valley Village
- Community Plan
- Event proposed by Jake Kovinsky
- Paint/decorate switch boxes in Valley Village (in partnership with VVHA)

- Repair the Valley Village gateway sign
- Disaster Plan for Valley Village
- Proposed gateway sign for Riverside/Coldwater-Chandler (TBD location)
- Tujunga Wash landscape plan
- Plant at minimum replacement trees from original planting, more if possible
- Designated cleanup days
- Energy/Sustainability plan for Mayor's office

A discussion was held regarding succession planning for the Board.

There was no public comment.

The Board retreat was adjourned at 9:05pm.